≡ Menu

UPDATE: The Tall Stones

Tall Stones coverThe Tall Stones, the first book of The Guardians of the Tall Stones series, and one of Moyra Caldecott‘s best books, is now available in multiple formats from all the best ebookstores (see the list on the right — though there are many more). We had previously only published it as a Mobipocket title. It is considered one of the best esoteric novels of all time, and has been continuously in print since its first publication in 1977 (quite impressive in these days of short-lived “bestsellers”).

Here is the blurb:

The first of four novels set in Bronze Age Britain, a society focused around the great circles of Sacred Stones scattered across the landscape. It tells the story of a community threatened by the evil designs of Wardyke, a corrupt and ambitious priest, and its only defence, the courageous young psychic, Kyra. But to defend her community, Kyra must enter the forbidden circle of stones and call upon its unseen, mystical powers…

And this from the Introduction:

This is a story set in Bronze Age Britain, c.1500 BC, when the great circles of standing stones that were such a feature of the Neolithic Age were already more than a thousand years old, yet still in use as sacred temples. Hundreds of stone circles have been found throughout Britain, the most famous today being Avebury and Stonehenge in Wiltshire. That such a homogeneous culture flourished in communities so widely separated by dense and dangerous forests, mountains, and wild and stormy seas, is extraordinary.

The Tall Stones begins in a stone circle in Scotland where a young girl, Kyra, finds that she has psychic powers usually only possessed by the Priesthood. She is thrust into a situation of great danger in order to attempt to rescue her community threatened by a dark and menacing evil. She is forced to ‘spirit travel’ before she is ready, to seek the help of the mighty Lords of the Sun.

Go on, give it a try…

Next post:

Previous post: